Assessment of Priority areas within Australia for 2022-23

The priority areas listed below have been agreed with the relevant state or territory and indicate the priority for the Radiation Oncology Health Program Grants (ROHPG) Scheme.

Page last updated: 29 August 2022

Consultation with each state and territory has confirmed priority areas for 2022-23 are as follows:

New Priority Areas

The following new priority areas have been identified:

New South Wales

  • Tamworth Local Government Area (LGA) – within Hunter New England Local Health District (1 linear accelerator required).

Applications for the above priority area will be assessed on a 'first come, first served' basis.

The process for applications for new priority areas (NPAs) is as follows:

  • Applications for NPAs will open 8 weeks after being published on the Health website.
  • Applications for the NPAs will be accepted for a period of 4 weeks then close until further notice.
  • Competing applications for a NPA will be considered together and assessed against the criteria at Clause 6.2 of the Guidelines.
  • When the Minister, or delegate, has decided to approve a ROHPG funding application for a health service in a NPA, the applicants will be notified of the decision and the newly approved facility will be added to the list of ROHPG funded facilities on our website.
  • If no applications are received for a NPA in the initial 4 week application period, applications will be assessed on a ’first come, first served’ basis.

Continuing Priority Areas

The following continue to be existing priority areas:

Western Australia

  • Midwest Region (1 linear accelerator required); and
  • Wheatbelt Region (1 linear accelerator required).

Northern Territory

  • Alice Springs – Central Australia (1 linear accelerator required).

No Identified Priority Areas

The below states and territories currently have no identified priority areas:

  • Queensland
  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • South Australia