Selecting or changing accreditors fact sheet

The role of accreditors in your application to the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme.

Page last updated: 27 January 2017

Selecting or Changing Accreditors Fact Sheet

What is an accreditor?

An accreditor is an independent organisation appointed by the Minister for Health with the authority to provide accreditation to the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS).

Accreditors accept applications for accreditation, perform desk-top audits and grant accreditation. They also advise the Department of Human Services of practices’ accreditation status and liaise with the Department of Health as required.

In order to become an accreditor, organisations are required to demonstrate their credentials and capacity to provide independent, timely and affordable accreditation services to a diversity of practice types. Approved accreditors are required to assess all practice types including those practices which only provide non-radiology services.

Accreditors approved for the DIAS are named in subordinate legislation as the organisations with the authority to accredit practices under s.23DZZIAA of the Health Insurance Act 1973.

Selecting an accreditor

There are three organisations approved as accreditors for the DIAS. These organisations may provide accreditation services nationally to a number of practice types at affordable rates.

Practices may choose accreditors. Each accreditor operates independently within the guidelines provided by the department and as such has its own application forms and sets its own fees.

The Department of Health does not carry out any accreditation services so practices should direct enquiries regarding application processes and/or fees to the accreditor of their choice.

Changing accreditors

Practices may choose to change accreditors at any time. To change accreditors, practices should notify their current accreditor of their intention to change and request the release of their records then apply to the accreditor of their choice.

The new accreditor will update the Department of Human Services. There is no fee to change your accreditor and there should be no interruption to practices’ accreditation status during the change period.

Approved accreditors

Website: HDAA
Phone: 1800 601 696

National Association of Testing Authorities Australia (NATA)
Website: National Association of Testing Authorities Australia (NATA)
Phone: 1800 621 666

Quality Innovation Performance (QIP)
Website: Quality Innovation Performance (QIP)
Phone: 1300 888 329

Practices seeking further information from the Department of Health may email the Diagnostic imaging team or go to the DIAS information resources (from 1 January 2016) page.